Ballon d’Or 2019: Lionel Messi, Megan Rapinoe, Alisson Becker, Matthijs de Ligt all go home with individual awards


    Full list of winners:

    • Men’s Ballon d’Or: Lionel Messi
    • Women’s Ballon d’Or: Megan Rapinoe
    • Yachine Trophy: Alisson Becker
    • Kopa Trophy: Matthijs de Ligt

    Lionel Messi has won a sixth Ballon d’Or at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris tonight.

    The Barcelona star lead a 30-man shortlist, with Virgil van Dijk and Cristiano Ronaldo expected to finish on the podium. There was no place for last year’s winner Luka Modric, though his Real Madrid team-mates Karim Benzema and Eden Hazard are in the running.  

    USA national team forward Megan Rapinoe has won the women’s Ballon d’Or.

    Van Dijk on Messi…“I had a great season, but sometimes you come up against players like him [Messi], who are a bit unnatural. Six Ballon d’Ors… you’ve got to respect greatness.”

    The humble Virgil van Dijk claims he never thought he’d be in the position to win:“I never thought that I would be up for a Ballon d’Or until I was actually nominated. It shows a lot about how my career has been. My career has been different from the winner here, I came late, but I never gave up on my dreams.”I had to work hard every step of the way, so to be here makes me very proud. And I want to work hard and be here again next year.”

    Messi describes winning his sixth Ballon d’Or as “absolutely unthinkable”.“To the journalists and my colleagues with whom I win and lose, I remember my first Ballon D’Or in Paris, when I arrived with my brothers, now I pick up the sixth, and this was absolutely unthinkable.”I never stopped dreaming and enjoying football like when I was a child. I hope I have more years to enjoy, although I am aware of how old I am, everything happens very quickly and I know that the moment is approaching.”

    Here are some crazy stats you can only get from the G.O.A.T:

    Barcelona La Liga (10) 2004-05, 2005-06, 2008-09, 2009-10, 2010-11, 2012-13, 2014-15, 2015-16, 2017-18, 2018-19
    Copa del Rey (6) 2008-09, 2011-12, 2014-15, 2015-16, 2016-17, 2017-18
    Champions League (4) 2005-06, 2008-09, 2010-11, 2014-15
    Fifa Under-20 World Cup
    Olympic gold medal 2008
    Ballon d’Or/Fifa Ballon d’Or (6)
    2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019

    Leave a Reply